Books, photos and a general update

Happy spring to everyone!
I hope you are all well?
I’m so pleased the dark, heavy winter has finally lifted here in Sweden. I’ve been immersing myself in nature every chance I get lately which has been wonderful!
Though, on my last outing I was quite spooked by the sudden appearance of a sinister-looking tree root. At least I hope it’s just a tree root…
Had I not been in the middle of the woods with no one knowing my whereabouts I might have checked it out a bit more but as it was I just took a few photos and turned back.
I know I will need to return one day to have some clarity but I will NOT do it alone.

Mörkmoren 030c-horz

Book recommendation

I’ve just finished reading a very interesting book by a Swedish author.
The book is called Stallo and is written by Stefan Spjut and it’s been translated to a few other languages. The English version seems to be called The Shapeshifters. Those of you who are unfamiliar with the term Stallo might now understand why this book was very interesting to me…
I really recommend this book!
It actually received great reviews, even from so-called “normal” people, i.e. people not already involved with cryptozoology, shapeshifting etc.
The official synopsis goes like this:

Summer 1978. A young boy disappears without a trace from a summer cabin. His mother claims he was carried away by a giant. He is never found.
Twenty-five years later, another child goes missing. This time there’s a lead, a single photograph taken by Susso Myrén. She’s devoted her life to the search for trolls, legendary giants known as stallo who can control human thoughts and assume animal form. Convinced that the trolls are real, she follows the trail of missing children to northern Sweden. But humans, some part stallo themselves, have been watching over the creatures for generations, and this hidden society of protectors won’t hesitate to close its deadly ranks.
Mixing folklore and history, suspense and the supernatural, The Shapeshifters is an extraordinary journey into a frozen land where myth bleeds into reality.

You should definitely get this book. Though it is fiction, it does present views and ideas that are very intriguing to those of us involved with the weird.

 

The Maps

My Dogman sightings maps have been fused into one. I figured it was easier for people to have the one map to refer to, no matter what part of the world they wanted to look at.
The old maps of Europe and Wisconsin/ Michigan have now been deleted, so just use THIS link from now on.
The maps can be zoomed in and used the same way as a regular google map. The dots are placed as accurately as possible. Just click on each dot to see available info on that particular sighting and a link to its source.
I have noticed some of the links lead to now removed pages and I’m trying to remedy this problem whenever I stumble over one. It might take some time though since there are over 450 sightings on the map as of right now.

 

dmmap

Thank you for reading! Now go out and enjoy the spring!
Unless you live in the southern hemisphere, in which case you have my deepest sympathies… 😛

 

vågbroleden 030b

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Books, photos and a general update”

  1. Just wanted to say I love your site! I am also so impressed that a native Swedish speaker writes so well in English. We Americans are so behind the ball on teaching languages to our younger generations….it’s quite depressing. Anyway, thanks again for all your hard work. Your awesome and keep up the excellent job your doing. P.S. your views ha e changed my perspective on dogman and werewolves. Also check out the dogman encounters radio episode with the dogman hunting uncles and I think that’s right in line with your ideas. Thanks Again!

    1. Np! It’s true though, excellent writing and even nuance and wordplay….very impressive, indeed. Just keep up the greatness and I was wondering about a followup of the fleshgait story, like if her family is still out there doing that creepy stuff. You have so many great stories it just makes me more curious. I wonder if dogman encounterstories had any Sweden sightings, maybe I’ll email them because you can investigate!! Lol

  2. *Blushing* Thanks again Angelo! You’re just too kind!!
    About the fleshgait/skinwalker story; I know the woman has quite recently moved to another state and I haven’t heard of anything stalking her yet. Still, this woman has encountered so much in her life it wouldn’t surprise me if she sees something again soon, but I hope she may live in peace where she is now.
    Dogman Encounters Radio hasn’t published anything from Sweden yet, but he did post a sighting from Norway…
    I’ve also found a few cases of sheep mutilation/ killings here in Sweden that I suspect may not have been caused the way the authorities assume. One case for instance had the culprit set as a human with fighting dog/s because the bite marks found were much too broad and big to be from a regular dog, One of the sheep had been skinned, all they found of it was the pelt. Thus they assumed a human with fighting dogs had entered the pasture, the dogs killed a few sheep and the human skinned one with a knife and took it with him/ her.
    Well I assume this isn’t entirely impossible, but if you were going to steal a sheep for food, why stand around in the pasture and skin it, risking being seen? And also, if you are going to steal a sheep, wouldn’t it be easier to transport with the skin still on?
    Well, I guess we’ll never know…

Say something about this

