To be happy and grateful and still

A while ago I stumbled over a book. No I mean I LITERALLY stumbled over it as it was suddenly lying on the floor in my hallway. It must have somehow fallen out of a plastic bag that was standing in the corner, full of notebooks and diaries after my late mother. I have yet to fully understand how it just LEAPED out of that plastic bag that has been standing at that spot for months, but in any case I picked the book up.
It was a small, red book. Printed in 1977, twelfth edition. It’s in Swedish, but the English title is “God calling”.
“Ugh”, I think. God stuff? I mean, I do believe and I believe intensely, but churches and preachings and that whole “normal” Christian life is not for me. I have always had MASSIVE issues with the Bible and as such I’m not really welcome within the Christian community. And that’s fine with me. I search, and I have no intention to stop and say I’m done. I will never be done. And I will go wherever I need to go, no matter how much of a problem the Christians may have with that. As long as God is with me I’ll be fine.

Anyway, I reluctantly started reading this book. It’s about two women in the 1930’s who, during “quiet time” together, receive messages from God.
One of the women, who refer to themselves as “the two listeners”,  is unable to receive much guidance this way, but for the other one the divine messages come through very easily.

“We felt all unworthy and overwhelmed by the wonder of it, and could hardly realize that we were being taught, trained and encouraged day by day by HIM personally, when millions of souls, far worthier, had to be content with guidance from the Bible, sermons, their Churches, books and other sources.”

The messages the “listeners” receive in no way counteracts any teachings from the Bible, and yet I can totally accept them, understand and learn from them.
The book is of the type that neither can nor should be read from cover to cover in one night. The daily messages are usually not too long, and one, two or possibly three a day should be enough, given that you need to contemplate their meaning in order to actually grasp them and absorb their wisdom into your daily life.

“But He encouraged us daily, saying that He would not break the instruments that He intended to use, that He would not leave the metal in the crucible longer than was necessary for the burning away of the dross.  Continually He exhorted us not to lose heart, an spoke of the joy that the future held for us.”

The quotes are only from the foreword. And yet they touch on a lot of doubts and insecurities in many of us.
The suffering, what good does it do?
Why can’t we catch a break?
WHY DOES HE NOT HEAR US WHEN WE PLEAD TO HIM?
The answer to that last one I found in this book, and that particular answer is what inspired this post.

“Love and Trust are the solvents for the worry and cares and frets of a life. Apply them at once. You are channels and though the channel may not be altogether blocked, fret and impatience and worry corrode, and in time would become beyond your help.
Persevere, oh! persevere. Never lose heart. All is well.”

“Be glad all the time. Rejoice exceedingly. Joy in Me. Rest in Me. Never be afraid. Pray more. Do not get worried. I am thy Helper. “Underneath are the Everlasting Arms.” You cannot get below that. Rest in them, as a tired child rests.”

“Never forget your “Thank you.” Do you not see it is a lesson? You MUST say “Thank You” on the grayest days. You MUST do it. All cannot be light unless you do. There is gray-day practice. It is absolutely necessary.
My death upon the Cross was not only necessary to save a world, it was necessary if only to train My disciples. It was all a part of their training: My entering Jerusalem in triumph; My washing the disciples’ feet; My sorrow-time in Gethsemane; My being despised, judged, crucified, buried. Every step was necessary to their development – and so with you.
If a gray day is not one of thankfulness, the lesson has to be repeated until it is. Not to everyone is it so. But only to those who ask to serve Me well, and to do much for Me. A great work requires a great and careful training.”

Therefore, if you happen to find yourself stuck in a never ending circle of bad luck and problems, chances are you have been selected as one of God’s special people.
He doesn’t ask you to do all the things you do to fix your own situation, all he asks is that you are still before him, give thanks for the good things in your life as well as the bad, since they are lessons you need to learn and there truly is a point to it all.
Don’t be stubborn or proud.
Be still before him, be happy and be grateful. REALLY try not to worry, since worry and fear corrodes and blocks your channel to God.
He WANTS to help you, but he can’t as long as your channel is blocked.
Don’t fear change. BELIEVE that nothing really bad can ever happen. Everything that does happen IS for the better, even if you can’t see that right now.
I know there will be moments and times when these things are not so easy to do, but don’t worry about that either. Just try to find your way back to the inner peace as soon as possible.
Pray for faith. And do what you know to be good.
And try to as often as possible NOT think so much about yourself as an individual. The self is an illusion. All is one.

http://www.twolisteners.org/Introduction.htm

http://www.twolisteners.org/God%20Calling%20TOC.htm

Say something about this

